Nothing Can Ever Prepare You For “That” News

“Blessed are those who mourn, for they shall be comforted” Matthew 5:4

I am so sorry for being absent for the past month. It has been a long month indeed. I last wrote a post about Christmas and how great of a holiday it was. Oh, it was. And it was a great New Years with my mom watching movies and drinking sparkling cider. We toasted and rung in the new year with the ball drop, everyone sending “Happy New Years!!!” texts. It was a very happy time.

Our world went spiraling downwards on Wednesday, January 11th when my mom came home and told me that my dad was dead. Those two words that she said to me did not sound real in my ears. “Daddy’s dead”. No. He can’t be. I cried and cried. As rocky as my relationship was with him, I loved him. I still love him.

He’s not going to be there to see me graduate. He’s not going to be at my wedding. He’s not going to see my children. He’s going to miss out on so much. And that hurts.

I need prayers for comfort and healing. Even after two and a half weeks I’m still in shock about him being gone. He’s really gone. I’m never going to hear him say “I love you” or get a hug from him ever again. I’m never going to have him text me telling me about the sunset that night again. He’s gone and it breaks my heart. Nothing can ever prepare you for that news. Nothing can.

I miss you daddy.

Processed with VSCO with p5 preset

Processed with VSCO with p5 preset

Processed with VSCO with p5 preset

 

Leave a Reply

